Mine road network
National Service Hotline
029-85212477
current location: home » Tech » Metallurgy » text

Application of graphene in lithium-sulfur battery

Release date:2018-08-23  source:粉体网  Browse times:821
      With the rapid development of industries such as portable electronic devices and electric vehicles, the demand for high-energy density batteries is becoming more and more urgent. However, in traditional lithium-ion batteries, the positive electrode materials are generally more dense due to the "intercalation" lithium storage mechanism. Low, unable to meet the rapidly growing market demand. Therefore, the exploration and development of new high-energy density secondary batteries has become a research hotspot in the field of energy storage, and lithium-sulfur batteries are one of them.

1. Introduction to lithium-sulfur batteries

The working principle of lithium-sulfur battery is based on the reversible redox reaction of sulfur and Li+. The electrochemical reaction between the two is as follows:
The theoretical specific capacity of sulfur-based positive electrode based on this reaction is as high as 1675 mAh/g, which is 10 times that of traditional lithium ion battery cathode materials. At the same time, sulfur storage is abundant and the cost is low. Therefore, lithium-sulfur batteries have received extensive attention, but sulfur and polysulfide itself. The defects of nature make the lithium-sulfur battery still have many problems.

First, sulfur is an insulator, and its conductivity is poor, which brings difficulties to the charge transfer process. Secondly, lithium polysulfide can be dissolved in the electrolyte, and it is easy to migrate to the metal lithium side and is reduced to insoluble Li2S deposition on the surface of the metal lithium electrode. "shuttle effet "Phenomenon; again, when soluble lithium polysulfide is completely reduced to insoluble sulfide, it will hinder the efficient transmission of electrons and ions; finally, after the conversion of elemental sulfur to insoluble sulfide, the volume effect will be caused by the difference in density of the two substances. , to reduce electrode stability. Therefore, lithium-sulfur batteries have disadvantages such as low actual capacity, poor cycle performance, and poor signal performance.

Second, the application of graphene in lithium-sulfur batteries

In order to obtain the high-performance lithium-sulfur battery, the researchers conducted a variety of methods for the composite and modification of sulfur cathodes, and designed and prepared a series of composite sulfur cathode materials with novel structure and excellent performance. Among them, carbon materials have been widely used due to their high conductivity, rich structure and large specific surface area, and graphene, a new carbon material, has excellent performance in improving the performance of lithium-sulfur batteries.

Graphene is an excellent electronic conductor, and has the advantages of high mechanical strength and large specific surface area. At the same time, chemically modified graphene and graphene derivatives have a series of surface functional groups capable of providing many active sites for the load, so graphene It has been widely used in composite sulfur cathode materials.

On the one hand, graphene is used as a conductive carrier for the sulfur positive electrode to compensate for the poor conductivity of sulfur; on the other hand, graphene can also inhibit the dissolution of polysulfide by reasonable structural design and surface modification. In addition, in recent research, scientists have also found that the design of graphene functional coatings can slow the shuttle of polysulfides between the positive and negative electrodes and inhibit the "shuttle effet" phenomenon.

1. Research progress of graphene/sulfur composite cathode materials

The extremely high conductivity of graphene can make up for the poor conductivity of sulfur particles. Therefore, graphene materials are mostly designed as conductive substrates or conductive networks that support sulfur. For example, graphene foam structure can achieve uniformity of graphene and sulfur at the nanometer scale. Composite, capable of providing fast and efficient electron transport channels for sulfur, while nanopores are also effective in binding polysulfides.

Although the three-dimensional graphene obtained under the conventional conditions is rich in structure, it is extremely fluffy and the apparent density is very low, which leads to a serious shortage of the volumetric energy density of the composite electrode material after sulfur loading. For this reason, the academician of the Shenyang Institute of metals, Chinese Academy of Sciences, used the CVD method. A three-dimensional porous graphene foam was obtained on the foamed nickel.
Figure 1 (a) Preparation process of flexible graphene/sulfur composite; (b, c, d, e) graphene/sulfur composite electrode material photo and flexible display

The method can not only support a high proportion of sulfur, but also the sulfur content can be regulated in the range of 3.3 to 10.1 mg/cm2, especially the electrode with a loading of 10.1 mg/cm2, which can obtain a very high specific area capacity (13.4 mAh). /cm2).

In addition, considering the unique two-dimensional sheet-like nanostructure of graphene, the use of graphene nanosheets as a wrapping material to construct a composite electrode material with a "core shell" structure is also an important way to fix polysulfides and alleviate their dissolution. It is a very effective method to uniformly load sulfur on the surface of the carbon nanofibers and then coat the sulfur surface with graphene.
Figure 2 Preparation of a graphene/S/carbon nanofiber composite electrode with coaxial structure

2. Application of graphene functional coating in lithium-sulfur battery

In order to improve the cycle stability of lithium-sulfur batteries, in addition to regulating the composition and structure of sulfur cathode materials to inhibit the dissolution of polysulfides, it is also an important way to weaken the "shuttle effect" through the design of the pole piece structure. For example, adding a buffer layer between the sulfur positive electrode and the separator can greatly increase the life of the lithium-sulfur battery.
Figure 3 Schematic diagram of graphene membrane coating effectively blocking polysulfide migration

Innovative pole piece structure design of graphene/sulfur/graphene-separator, on the one hand, the current collector is changed from traditional Al foil to graphene; on the other hand, the diaphragm is modified to change the original diaphragm and direct contact with sulfur positive electrode. The way, a layer of graphene material is coated on the surface of the diaphragm.

With a conventional pole piece structure, after the polysulfide dissolves in the electrolyte during the cycle, it passes through the separator and enters the metal Li side. In this novel structure, the graphene layer exists between the separator and the positive electrode material. It can effectively prevent the migration of polysulfides. In addition, due to the excellent mechanical properties of the graphene material, the graphene modified membrane can effectively alleviate the volume change of the sulfur positive electrode during charging and discharging, and maintain the integrity of the pole piece structure.

Summary:

Electrochemical energy storage plays an important role in today's production and life, whether it is mass storage of renewable energy or high-density storage of portable equipment, cost, energy storage density, stability and other indicators of electrochemical energy storage devices and materials. Both put forward higher requirements.

Due to its theoretical specific capacity and specific energy, lithium-sulfur batteries are cheap and easy to obtain, and will be highly competitive in the future electrochemical energy storage field. If the application of graphene can improve the actual capacity and cycle performance of lithium-sulfur batteries. The shortcomings of poor performance and poor signal performance, in the near future, the performance of lithium-sulfur batteries may bring us more surprises.

 
 
[ Techsearch ]  [ Join in collection ]  [ Tell your friends ]  [ Print this article ]  [ Illegal reporting ]  [ close window ]

 

 
Recommend Tech
Click rank
cancel

Thank you for your support, I will continue to work hard.!

Sweep code support
Say as much as you like.

openAlipayIf you sweep, you can get a reward for sweeping yards.

Website Homepage

About Us

Contact

Use Agreement

Copyright privacy

Sitemap

Service Items

Member Service

Advertising Services

Website Message

Four Privileges

Payment Method

Apple APP Download
Android App Download
Mining Club
Contact Us

029-85212477

We are always waiting for your visit!

| ICP business license: Shaanxi ICP No. 15507745

当前位置: 首页 » 技术 » 材料冶金 » 正文

石墨烯在锂硫电池中的应用

发布日期:2018-08-23  来源:粉体网  浏览次数:1343
        随着便携式电子设备和电动汽车等产业的快速发展,人们对高能量密度电池的需求日益迫切,然而在传统离子电池中,正极材料因“插层式”的储锂机制导致其容量普遍较低,无法满足快速增长的市场需求。因此,新型高能量密度二次电池的探索和研发成为了储能领域的研究热点,锂硫电池就是其中之一。

一、锂硫电池简介

锂硫电池的工作原理基于硫和Li+可以发生可逆的氧化还原反应,两者之间的电化学反应式如下:

基于该反应的硫正极的理论比容量高达1675mAh/g,是传统锂离子电池正极材料的10 倍,同时硫储量丰富、成本低,因此锂硫电池受到了广泛关注,然而硫及多硫化物本身性质的缺陷,使得锂硫电池仍存在很多问题。

首先,硫是绝缘体,导电性差,给电荷传递过程带来困难;其次,多硫化锂可以溶解在电解质中,易迁移到属锂一侧被还原成不溶性Li2S沉积在金属锂电极表面发生“shuttle effet”现象;再次,可溶性多硫化锂被完全还原成不溶性硫化物时,会阻碍电子和离子的有效传输;最后,单质硫转化为不溶性硫化物后,由于两种物质密度的差异,会造成体积效应,降低电极稳定性。因此,锂硫电池存在实际容量低、循环性能差和信率性能不佳等缺点。

二、石墨烯在锂硫电池中的应用

针对上述问题,为了获得高性能的锂硫电池,研究者对硫正极进行了多种手段的复合与改性研究,设计并制备了一系列具有新颖结构和优异性能的复合硫正极材料。其中,碳材料因其导电性高、结构丰富、比表面积大等优势而得到了广泛应用,而石墨烯这一新型碳材料在提升锂硫电池性能方面有优异表现。

石墨烯是优异的电子导体,同时具有机械强度高、比表面积大等优点,同时化学改性的石墨烯及石墨烯衍生物具有一系列能为负载提供诸多活性位点的表面官能团,因此石墨烯在复合硫正极材料中得到了广泛的应用。

一方面,石墨烯被用作硫正极的导电载体,弥补硫导电性差的缺陷;另一方面,通过合理的结构设计与表面改性,石墨烯还能够抑制多硫化物的溶解。此外,在最近的研究中,科学家还发现通过石墨烯功能涂层的设计,能够减缓多硫化物在正负极之间的穿梭,抑制“shuttle effet”现象。

1、石墨烯/硫复合正极材料研究进展

石墨烯极高的电导率可以弥补硫颗粒导电性差的问题,因此石墨烯材料多被设计成负载硫单质的导电基体或者导电网络,比如石墨烯泡沫结构可实现石墨烯与硫在纳米尺度的均匀复合,能够为硫提供快速与高效的电子传输通道,同时纳米孔还能够有效束缚多硫化物。

常规条件下获得的三维石墨烯尽管结构丰富,但极为蓬松,表观密度很低,导致硫负载后复合电极材料体积能量密度严重不足,为此,中科院沈阳金属所成会明院士利用CVD方法在泡沫上获得三维多孔石墨烯泡沫。

图1 (a)柔性石墨烯/硫复合材料的制备流程;(b、c、d、e)石墨烯/硫复合电极材料照片及柔性展示

该方法不仅能够负载高比例的硫,而且硫的含量能够在3.3~10.1mg/cm2范围内进行调控,特别是负载量为10.1mg/cm2的电极,能够获得极高的比面积容量(13.4mAh/cm2)。

另外,考虑到石墨烯独特的二维片状纳米结构,采用以石墨烯纳米片作为包裹材料,构筑具有“核壳”结构的复合电极材料也是固定多硫化物,缓解其溶解的重要方式。先在碳纳米纤维表面均匀负载上硫,再使用石墨烯包覆在硫表面是一种很有效的方法。

图2 具有同轴结构石墨烯/S/碳纳米纤维复合电极制备图

2、石墨烯功能涂层在锂硫电池中的应用

为提高锂硫电池的循环稳定性,除了对硫正极材料的组成与结构进行调控以抑制多硫化物的溶解,通过极片结构的设计来减弱“shuttle effect”也是一条重要途径。例如,在硫正极和隔膜间添加一层缓冲层能够极大的提高锂硫电池的寿命。

图3 石墨烯隔膜涂层有效阻挡多硫化物迁移示意图

石墨烯/硫/石墨烯-隔膜的创新极片结构设计,一方面将集流体由传统的Al箔改为石墨烯;另一方面对隔膜进行改性,改变了原有隔膜与硫正极直接接触的方式,在隔膜表面涂布一层石墨烯材料。

采用传统的极片结构,在循环过程中多硫化物溶解在电解液后,会穿过隔膜进入金属Li一侧,而在这一新颖结构中,存在于隔膜与正极材料之间的石墨烯层能够有效阻止多硫化物的迁移。另外,由于石墨烯材料优异的力学性能,石墨烯改性隔膜能够有效缓解硫正极在充放电过程中的体积变化,保持极片结构的完整性。

综述:

电化学储能在当今人们的生产生活中占有重要地位,无论是可再生能源的大量存储还是便携式设备的高密度存储,对电化学储能器件和材料的成本、储能密度、稳定性等指标都提出了较高的要求。

锂硫电池由于其理论比容量、比能量高,原料价廉易得,在未来电化学储能领域中将极具竞争力,如果通过石墨烯的应用能够改善锂硫电池实际容量低、循环性能差和信率性能不佳等缺点,在不远的将来,锂硫电池的表现可能会给我们带来更多惊喜。

【免责声明】此文章仅供读者作为参考,出于传递给读者更多信息之目的,并不意味着赞同其观点或证实其内容的真实性。如转载稿件涉及版权等问题,请联系我们,电话:029-85212477
 
 
[ 技术搜索 ]  [ 加入收藏 ]  [ 告诉好友 ]  [ 打印本文 ]  [ 违规举报 ]  [ 关闭窗口 ]

 

 
推荐技术
点击排行
取消

感谢您的支持,我会继续努力的!

扫码支持
扫码打赏,你说多少就多少

打开支付宝扫一扫,即可进行扫码打赏哦